End Of The Year

by

Where does the time go?  It is almost 2010 and my little girl is growing up so fast.  She has done really well in school this semester, making lots of progress on her lessons.  Even though Sophia started school last year a semester after all the other children, she has totally caught up  with her school work.  This week was her holiday program at school.  She was more excited about wearing a fancy dress to school than the singing part.  These days Sophia is really into dancing (in her pink tutu) and singing and putting on little shows for Michael and I.  We are thinking about enrolling her in dance class after the first of the year.

The first couple months of school it seemed like Sophia was constantly ill with some sort of upper resp junk.  Which resulted in her missing a lot of school.  At the advice of her doctor we put Sophia back on a daily nebulizer treatment of Pulmicort.  This seems to have made a positive difference.  She is for sure getting sick less often, although right now she is working on a heck of a cold.  We did decided to vaccinate Sophia for H1N1 and she received her Swine flu shot the day after her 5th birthday(she’d had her season flu shot before school started).

Sophia is so excited for Santa and talks about him constantly.  My favorite story this holiday season was a couple of weeks ago while we were shopping in Costco, Sophia heard the “clip clop” sounds from a toy rocking horse and gasped and asked me “Mommy, did you hear that?”  I asked her what it that she thought she heard and she said,”Santa and the reindeer are here, they must be checking up on me to make sure I am being a good girl?”  We have been to see three different Santa’s and every time she tells him she wants a pink big girl bike, and a bat and ball.  I think Santa has got this covered.

Our family stays pretty close to Kansas City for the holidays.  On Christmas eve we spend the evening with Michael’s side of the family.  Then on Christmas day we spend most of the day with my family.  I am not sure what are plans are for New Year’s Eve yet.

A couple of final things I wanted to mention before I close this post….  After the first of the year I will be returning back to work after staying home to manage Sophia’s health, etc for the past five years.  It has honestly been the most rewarding and challenging 5 years of my life.  I want to publicly thank, from the bottom of my heart all the the sacrifices that my husband, family and friends have made in order for me to be home with Sophia over these past five years.  Especially my sweet, loving and patient husband.  He works so hard and overlooks all of my imperfections daily so that I can be a stay at home mom to our precious daughter.  Going back to work full time will be a big adjustment for all of us, but is necessary and it is the right time.  I am also rejoining the symphony that I played with prior to Sophia being born.  I am confident that 2010 with be a year of lots of positive changes for Sophia and our family.  Michael and I wish you all a year of peace, health and happiness.  Thanks you all for keeping up with our daughter.  The support we get from this blog means a lot to us. Happy Holidays everyone! Please leave a comment if you have time.  We would love to hear from you.

5 Responses to “End Of The Year”

  1. Kate Says:

    We’re so happy 2009 brought us to you and your family- I’m not sure what we would have done without your support and insight for our family. We look forward to continuing our friendship and watching you all grow with the new year!

    Kate, Julie and Henry

  2. granny Says:

    such a great entry into the blog
    I love reading about your family and how Sophia is doing in school
    I talk to you everyday but reading these blogs makes me fell so happy
    Glad you are keeping everyone informed of Sophia’s progress
    Though I am sad at your returning to work I am sure all will work out for the best
    I will be there for you whenever I can

  3. granny Says:

    Just found all the Halloween pics on flickr and I loved everyone
    Sophia is the cutest Kitty ever and what a good sport Mike was to be wrapped in toilet paper.

  4. granny Says:

    need updates about career and Michael and Sophia

  5. May Says:

    My son is 18 month he has same case of Sophia , he will do his open heart surgery on April 2010… He will need valve transplante do you any thing about this! I’m really happy that Sophia is doing good at school . I’m too worry about this cause di goreg may cause learning delay:( I feel too much afraid

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

